4 comments on “insurmountable odds

  1. Well put old boy. Many truths. I certainly feel this frustration.

    It would be great to be able to tackle things on a large scale, to stimulate some sort of mass global awakening. But I guess that probably isn’t realistic given the enormity of the task. That leaves you with concentrating your efforts more locally, or more specifically, on some particular aspect. Whether you can then feel at peace with making a (relatively) small difference (throwing a stick at an avalanche) is another thing.

    I _would_ say that young people are the future and that if awareness can be fostered in them then we have a chance, and I still do think that, but there are so many nasty things pushing, pulling, and shaping young minds these days (advertising, mass media, poor parenting) that it isn’t going to be easy. In a way I’ve started to think that, like many other things in this world, it is going to take a major catastrophe before people (the people who are left) see the light.

  2. Large scale just seems impossible eh? Movies are about the only way I can think of. Maybe online stuff – flash movies etc? But again you are really just going to be reaching the already converted.

    Young people may just be the key – but as you say how to get through to them when all the weight goes to mass media and the consume conform culture that is instilled in them from day one.

    Major catastrophe would maybe do it. Or maybe aliens landing in Times Square. Or acid in the Coke supply…

    That clever mate in Vancouver just may be onto the right idea with youth and media eh?

    linkage: http://www.reelyouth.ca

  3. I also, wonder these problems. I study genetics at university and am constantly plagued by such questions. As the truth seems to not be confirmed by science but confused by it. I hope I am not getting ” Oh my god what the hell is he talking about” but that I merely mirror that article’s author’s question. I would simply add that you are clearly not alone in your thoughts and that there others pouring over the same issues as you, striving for an answer.

  4. “It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society.” Jiddu Krishnamurti

    I’m totally with you, my maladjusted compadre. I Googled “insurmountable odds” in the hopes of finding an article just like this (seriously) and am glad I did. It’s nice to know I’m not alone in feeling this way. Email me if you ever hatch a plan to save the world.

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

